Introduction Video

Eligibility Cost & Policies


Checklist

Eligibility Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years of age for registration as an unarmed security guard.

  • Be a citizen of the United States or a resident alien. If you are NOT a US Citizen or resident alien your application will be denied. Resident Alien applicants must provide documentation of their citizenship status.

  • Not have been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease unless a court of competent jurisdiction has since declared the applicant competent.

  • Not be suffering from habitual drunkenness or narcotics addiction or dependence & Be of Good moral character

  • Not have any disability that, in the opinion of the commissioner, prevents the applicant from performing the duties of a security guard/officer.

  • If convicted in any jurisdiction of any of the crimes listed in this subdivision (4), have completed serving sentence or court ordered probation at least five (5) years prior to application. Conviction of the following crimes shall disqualify an applicant, subject to the conditions stated in this section:

  • (A) Any felony

  • (B) Any misdemeanor involving:

  • 1 - Shooting a firearm or other weapon. 2 - Shoplifting. 3 - Assault and battery or other act of violence against persons or property. 4 - Crimes involving the sale, manufacture or distribution of controlled substances, controlled substance analogues, drugs or narcotics. 5 - Theft of property. 6 - Theft of services.

  • Meet the minimum training requirements. This course has been approved by the State of Tennessee Private Protective Services and meets all training requirements for Unarmed Security Guard Registration.

Checklist

Total License Cost

  • $60 Online Course

  • $35.15 Electronic Fingerprinting

  • $70 State of Tennessee License Fee

  • Total = $165.15